A few days ago I found a plastic folder filled with photo negatives. I thought this collection of images was long lost, but thankfully it had somehow survived all my moves and cleanouts. This vintage skyline pic was one of the negatives in the pack. The photo was taken using a Pentax K1000 camera and 105mm lens, with Fuji 100 film. The view here is from Alki Point looking east towards downtown Seattle.  I think I had the day off.

Or was “between jobs.”

The centerpiece to the picture is the dark-colored Columbia Tower, which was recently completed when the photo was taken.  Much around it has filled in since.  I tried to work with the color – or lack of it – with post editing tools after the scan, but this was the best I was able to get out of it.  Best guess is that the light conditions that were less then stellar, evidenced by the looming clouds, and the 100 speed film just wasn’t enough to capture the scene with any strength.  Oh well; it may not win awards but it does a good job of documenting a skyline that has changed immensely.

