what liz knowz

I can’t even begin to describe how much I wanted one of these back in the day.

In the late 1970s and early 80s I delivered newspapers using my trusty Rampar BMX bike. One day a friend let me borrow a hot-wired Honda CT70 that was sitting at his house; I used it on the paper route – without helmet, license, or even valid registration – and was hopelessly hooked. It was compact, quick, light, and did a great job of hauling the paper cart. The bike also got close to 100 mpg under my 140 pound frame. Eventually the owner reclaimed his property, and I was back on my BMX. I wanted a CT70 badly, but could never put the $700 together for a new one.

Eventually I became a motorcycle rider, probably in part to my experience with this mini bike.

This picture – courtesy of Signs And Wonders – was found as you see it, complete with cryptic “WHAT LIZ KNOWZ” message.  All the great elements are there: kid in plaid, Mom in helmet, and CT70 on lawn.  Love love love!

